Hip-to-Waist Ratio vs. BMI: Who’s Hotter?

22 Mar

I think it is a normal human instinct to strive towards self-improvement and perfect. And as a curious woman I want to know what “perfection” is. As an ambitious woman I want to know how to be perfect. Bad, I know – but I like think of it as inspiring instead of self-criticizing. I write more about it here on ThatPerfect.com, another blog I write for.

What is the sexiest BMI

What BMI is the hottest?

What is the sexiest female body?
In the race to gage female sex appeal, there are two scientific teams-one determined that the hip-to-waist ratio is the best judge of feminine attractiveness, the other BMI. Anthropometric systems are obviously not even close to 100% accurate, but I still find the findings intriguing.

180px-vintage_photo_nude_woman_2.jpg

Hip to Waist Ratio:
It was found that a women is most attractive when her hip to waist ratio is 70% (for you guys out there, the ideal is 90%). Studies continue that “interest is lost” (nice way to put it, huh) when the ratio exceeds 80%. Interesting; this study used photos of Playboy models.

The mode size of a Playboy model is 34-24-36, weight is 110, and height is 5’7″.
Waist-Hip Ratio of .7 and BMI of 17.8.

Beauty icons including Marilyn Monroe, Alessandra Ambrosio, Sophia Loren, Kate Moss, and even Venus de Milo all have ratios around 70%. Notice they have significantly different weights.

The case for BMI

Another study found that male experiment participants’ perceptions of attractiveness matched body-mass ratios much more closely than the waist-hip ratios.

The study concluded that those judged most attractive had a BMI between 19-20. Additionally it was found that attractiveness drops dramatically below 17 BMI and above 25. Chart of findings above and below.
attractive.gif

BMIs fashion models, 17.57
Other models (including centerfolds), 18.09
Anorexic women, 14.72
Bulimic women, 23.66
Normal women, 21.86.

My Food Diary

I wrote this article a while ago and I still find the statistics interesting. I have new information and ideas now that you can check out at www.thatperfect.com.

35 Responses to “Hip-to-Waist Ratio vs. BMI: Who’s Hotter?”

  1. Deirdre April 26, 2007 at 7:53 pm #

    At your age you probably don’t care, but waist:hip ratio is a much better indicator of cardiovascular risk than BMI.

  2. DC Wornock July 29, 2007 at 7:25 am #

    Normally BMI may be a good indicator of attractiveness for girls of average height. However, it has does have two major problems. (1) It doesn’t account for slender vs heavy build (bone structure) and (2)it does a poor job of accounting for height. For example a girl that is 5’10” with a BMI of 20 would have a BMI of 12.5 if she was 5’0″ and with identical proportions. Otherwise, it their were ideical twins except for height and you could not tell them apart from their photos, that is a vast difference in BMI.

  3. Mary Jo December 22, 2007 at 2:47 pm #

    another problem with bmi is that it doesn’t take account the muscles you have. My hurdle coach is obease AND HE DOESN’T HAVE ONE OUNCE OF FAT ON HIM!!!It’s all muscle! BUt i found this artical intresting- but it made me depressed I’m a 17 bmi 😦

  4. CBRstunter December 22, 2007 at 10:54 pm #

    Hip to waist ratio is definitely where it’s at. There’s nothing better than a girl with a small waist and some nice wide hips and a big ole booty. Makes you just want to bend her over, grab her by the hip bone and bambambambam like a rabbit LOL It’s definitely hip to waist ratio that makes me want to bury the bone the most. Thick or thin, if she’s got the curves in that area it is definitely erection inducing.

  5. PQ May 4, 2008 at 5:07 am #

    I’m 12.5 bmi and I don’t even look anorexic D=
    I don’t get it I have plenty of fat on me and I’m tall medium sized yet I’m 104 and 6’3″ and I really don’t think I am its like wth is with the bmis Dx

    • ichigolover February 5, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

      6’3 104 is gross. People say I’m too thin at 5’3 120. You weight 15lbs less than I, and you are a toot taller than I. Gross.

  6. orl June 26, 2008 at 10:28 pm #

    The golden ratio, from the arts and maths, is 0.618 or 61,8%.
    I would not be suprised if a waist-to-hip ratio near this number will be experienced as beautiful.

    For some reason this ratio is very beautiful.

  7. donald keith hills September 30, 2008 at 4:17 am #

    to whom it may concern,
    I came across this dothejanefonda website September 29, 2008 while surfing for some current information about Jane Fonda exercise videos. I’m two years older as i was born in 1935. I blog about health and fitness for adults of all ages early 20s to late 90s as seniorprospector.blogspot.com. Your graph for the waist to hip ratio is very well done. Where did you get your information? Excellent information has been produced over the past 20 years which hasn’t yet been fully applied. An excellent opportunity for someone to recognize the gaps and find key missing pieces and put them in their right place and make the information user friendly. Ever think of blogging a bit more? I’m still going strong at 3 days short of 73.

    -donald keith hills, seniorprospector.blogspotcom

  8. Anna December 31, 2008 at 6:17 am #

    Very nice, descriptive article. I am 5’5″, 130.2 lbs with a BMI of 21.7 and a WHR of .7. 😉

  9. bi March 16, 2009 at 2:54 am #

    Its not very accurate. I have whr 0,64 but I have more of a longer waistline-upper body bone structure and doesnt have a “bubblebutt” like say brya myles, who have the same whr but because she is more petite and shortwaisted plus more fat.

    and I´m certain its not a ratio for beauty, its just a ratio. ;)one of many you can measure bodies with and its just numbers.

  10. sendtoharvey February 21, 2010 at 6:31 am #

    that is very interesting…

  11. Nirmik September 11, 2010 at 7:30 am #

    thanks for Information

  12. Jo October 24, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    I am 5’8″, I weight 173 pounds, and I have a 26.3 BMI, but my WTH ratio is exactly .7; I also have a very dense muscular mass, yet I still fit in my size 6/7 jeans! See? the BMI would show me as overweight, but the WTH shows me as totally perfect. So much for 34-24-34: I’m 40-29-42!

    Check the WTH here: http://www.freedieting.com/tools/waist_to_hip_ratio.htm

  13. paul April 4, 2011 at 3:31 am #

    as long as the booty is firm and cellulite free, the smaller the ratio the better. on a scale of 1-10 average is a 5 or 6 (ratio .75or.7),7=.65,8=.6
    9=.55, and a perfect 10=.5(example:40-20-40)

  14. paul April 4, 2011 at 4:15 am #

    in addition to the above comment i think the ideal hip size to height should be atleast 5/8(.625) of height in inches.example(5’4″=64″ X .625=40″) and ideal waist would be .6 to .5 of hip(24″-20″)smaller the waist the better to create a superior hourglass figure.

  15. paul May 1, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    i already made comments on number .14 & .15.The hip should be atleast .625 but can be as much as 3/4(.75)of height as long as she is still semi toned and cellulite free.waist should still be .6 to .5 of hip.example(ht:64″x .75=48″(hips)x .6 to .5=28.8″ to 24″(waist)Ideal measurements for 64″ is 40×20-24×40 to 48×24-28.8×48

  16. jane July 17, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    I have a BMI of 20 and WHR of .7! 😉 Still trying to get my BMI closer to 18-19 though… 😥

  17. Anonymous August 10, 2012 at 4:38 am #

    tell me what you think of my comments.paul

  18. Nicole: WHR-0.63, BMI-19.9 November 16, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    Thought this subject was pretty interesting. I have a BMI of 19.9 and a WHR of 0.63. I’m a thin person, I’m 5 ft 4 in & 116 lbs. it’s all natural & I don’t diet -I just eat right- & I should exercise much more than I do, but I’m still fairly active.
    I’ve always thought I was much too thin. Ive been trying to gain a little weight. My bust size is very small, unfortunately. But at least I know I’m not completely out of the running. 🙂

  19. Elise February 6, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

    Very shortly this site will be famous among all blogging
    users, due to it’s good posts

  20. dogging April 27, 2013 at 12:07 am #

    Everything said was actually very logical. But, think on this, what if you were to create a killer headline?
    I am not suggesting your content isn’t good., but what if you added something that grabbed people’s attention?
    I mean Hip-to-Waist Ratio vs. BMI: Whos Hotter?
    | Do The Jane Fonda is a little plain. You should look at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they create news headlines to get viewers to click. You might add a related video or a picture or two to grab people interested about what you’ve got
    to say. Just my opinion, it might make your posts a little bit more interesting.

  21. Joel May 12, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

    Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding
    one? Thanks a lot!

  22. 2-get-her.com May 29, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

    Very descriptive blog, I enjoyed that bit. Will there be
    a part 2?. 2-get-her.com in addition to rapidly for ones Twitter Profile coming from greatest Suppliers.

    Do you have quietly wondered the best way to buy twitter followers cheap with twitter?

  23. seo Marketing company July 23, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    Hi there, just wanted to tell you, I loved this blog
    post. It was helpful. Keep on posting!

  24. Earle February 13, 2014 at 6:03 am #

    I leave a response whenever I like a article on a site or I have something
    to add to the conversation. It is a result of the sincerness communicated
    in the article I browsed. And after this article Hip-to-Waist Ratio
    vs. BMI: Whos Hotter? | Do The Jane Fonda. I was
    excited enough to drop a leave a responsea response 😉 I actually
    do have a couple of questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Is it simply me or does it appear like some of these responses look as if they are written by brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are writing on other online sites, I’d like to follow you.
    Could you make a list every one of your social pages like your Facebook
    page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  25. instagram June 28, 2014 at 2:47 pm #

    Howdy terrific website! Does running a blog like this take
    a large amount of work? I’ve absolutely no knowledge
    of computer programming however I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, if you have any ideas or tips
    for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic but I just wanted to ask.
    Thanks! instagram delivers quality sociable services.

    Consumers can instagram by a multitude of affordable expert services.

    the most effective source of instagram online

  26. youtube September 17, 2014 at 3:06 am #

    Thank you, I have just been searching for info approximately this subject for a long time and yours is the greatest I
    have found out so far. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you sure in regards to the source?.
    youtube
    youtube

  27. youtube September 25, 2014 at 3:19 am #

    Magnificent items from you, man. I have consider your stuff prior
    to and you’re simply extremely fantastic. I really like
    what you’ve acquired right here, really like
    what you are saying and the best way in which you assert it.
    You are making it entertaining and you continue to care for to stay it sensible.
    I can’t wait to read much more from you. That is actually a great website.
    youtube
    youtube

  28. instagram September 26, 2014 at 8:57 am #

    I don’t know if it’s just me or if everybody else encountering issues with
    your blog. It appears like some of the written text on your posts
    are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if
    this is happening to them as well? This might be a problem with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Thank you. instagram
    instagram

  29. facebook September 26, 2014 at 6:29 pm #

    Hey There. I found your weblog the use of msn. That is a really well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will definitely return. facebook
    facebook

  30. devil September 30, 2014 at 5:57 am #

    Hi, its leasant article ϲoncerning media print, wwe аll bee aware
    օff media is a impressive source оf factѕ.

  31. instagram October 1, 2014 at 2:44 am #

    Thanks for every other informative site. Where else may just I
    get that kind of information written in such an ideal means?
    I’ve a challenge that I am simply now running on, and I’ve been on the glance out for such
    info. instagram
    instagram
    instagram

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Alessandra Ambrosio » Alessandra Ambrosio March 21, 2007 10:16 pm - March 22, 2007

    […] People Are Saying Hip-to-Waist Ratio vs. BMI: Who?s Hotter? Beauty icons including Marilyn Monroe, Alessandra Ambrosio, Sophia Loren, Kate Moss, and even Venus […]

  2. That Perfect Body: Hip-to-waist ratio or BMI? « That Perfect - January 30, 2012

    […] All of us can breath a sigh of relief because what hip-to-waist ratio and BMI tell us is that there is no ideal goal weight or height. Physical attractiveness is determined by proportions, not an ideal number. I see that the article I wrote back then is still extremely popular now so would like to share this theme with you again. Check out the original article to see all the information. […]

  3. That Perfect Body: Hip-to-waist ratio or BMI? « That Perfect - January 30, 2012

    […] few years ago when I first started blogging on dothejanefonda.com, I spent a lot of time researching what people considered the perfect female physique. There are of […]

Leave a Reply

